PDA

View Full Version : Breaking termination period contract

Private
04-09-2012, 01:49 PM
Help please

I am a HR professional and am classified as an “executive” employee on my contract, so do not work on a EBA for example, I believe it’s a common law contract, I have no one reporting to me and am not in a senior role. I have been at this employer for 2 ½ years.

As per my contract, I resigned giving 13 weeks notice. I then started looking for employment and have now been offered a new role, however they need me to start in 3 weeks. Which would mean the total amount of notice I have given my current employer is 10 weeks.

However I have put this request into my manager, and they have said no. I must stay until the end of my notice period.

There are some factors from there point of view, as it’s coming to a peak period, they have not recruited for my replacement yet and another team member has 1 week of a/l just after I would be leaving. Leaving the team with only 1 staff member.

However they could hire a temp, we have done this before.

Where do I stand in regards to this? I want to leave in 3 weeks.

The last 2 HR team members left with 4 weeks and 7 weeks notice. Also about 90% of all other employees on this “executive” contract, leave with only 4-5 weeks notice.

Is it not equitable, if this flexibility isn’t shown to me also?

Qld IR Consultant
04-09-2012, 02:05 PM
I would need to see your contract but from what you have described then no you could not leave without incurring a penalty. Most likely is they will withhold wages for the period of the notice that you failed to adhere too......I am somewhat perplexed as to why they would be you on a common law contract. Do you earn above the threshold?.....I would be looking more in depth into the legality of the "contract" you are on......

Private
04-09-2012, 02:12 PM