PDA

View Full Version : Restraining Order!!!!

Midwest
11-07-2011, 11:05 AM
Hi All,
I currently have an employee (a) whom another employee (b) has taken a restraining order out against. Until heard this order prevents a from entering the workplace if b is there (which he is). I have advised A that he can not come to work until this is resolved unless b is off work (holidays or sick). A is now asking for policies etc to states this is legit?

Is it?

I put it down to the same as breaking down 5000km away on the weekend. If there is some reason you can not attend work that is not work related then you use your own leve entitlements or LWOP? (the incident happened at work and is being ivestigated through us as well). We probably would have suspended him with pay if the Restraining Order was not imposed but as it was it is not us preventing him attending work!!!

Moz
11-07-2011, 11:52 AM
I'm no expert, so don't take this as advice, but surely it is not your responsibility to enforce the restraining order?

Qld IR Consultant
11-07-2011, 11:55 AM
Well this is a tricky one. First off you cannot force the employee to breach the order by forcing A to come to work.

Do you have another site where A can work? Is there ability for A to work from home? Is there alternative duties available?

Also, it is a long shot, and must be approached carefully, but you could meet with B and speak to them about removing the order whilst the investigation takes place. If they are open to this, you can then manage them better by purely ensuring that their paths never cross, whilst you undertake the investigation.

Finally, if the situation is enough to have one of the parties take out an restraining order, I do suggest strongly that you engage a 3rd party with extensive investigation experience to do the workplace investigation.....

Moz
11-07-2011, 12:17 PM