PDA

View Full Version : HR & Payroll

JuliaDP
26-02-2009, 10:29 AM
Hi Everyone

I work in the media industry and our current HR Department also has Payroll sit within it. We have been instructed that our Payroll function will be moving under Finance. I was wondering how many of you have payroll sit outside of the HR Function and how this works effectively?

Pete
04-03-2009, 02:36 PM
I work as an HR Consultant in a large company (over 2000 staff), a few years ago Payroll moved from HR to Finance - the justification being that it was a transactional service ("just a more complicated accounts payable service" was essentially the position advanced by the intellectually challenged individual who came up with the idea).

Even though we are physically closely located, the operational relationship has suffered and most importantly we lost direct influence over the HR Info System. As a result we have limited accurate HR Metrics available, the payroll functionality has been designed around making it easy to pay people and track in the Financial management system, not around reporting and monitoring what is actually happening (e.g. leave balances, performance reviews, training needs, vacancy management etc).

Also, the Finance team direct the payroll manager what to do and how to do it, often with advice that conflicts with what is in our employment agreements and other provisions (e.g. holiday pay, deductions from wages etc) that are prescribed in law/contracts. This has resulted, on occiasions, in the payroll system and the processing administrators doing what the sytem requires or that Finance tell them to do, rather than doing what the law requires, and has exposed us to a number of risks and created more individual work for the HR team as we try to track, identify and correct their mistakes once an employee complains to us via the union that payroll have got it wrong again.