Default psychometric and aptitude testing

Hi all

What are your thoughts about companies who as part of the recruitment process undergo psychometric and or aptitude testing AFTER applicants have agreed to an interview?

Personally I think (I'm sure there is some law against not disclosing it) that it should be made known upfront in the recruitment advertisement or at least if they do a phone interview first. The other issue is who is interpreting these results, are they qualified to do so and what are they doing with those results!

Having seen some of these tests as a HR Manager I am also aware that some of them actually state "Do not employ" on them. Surely this opens up a can of worms as candidates are legally entitled to ask for a copy and or the results?
    Last edited by admin; 14-11-2012 at 05:44 PM. Reason: This thread has been moved from the "About HR Buzz" forum

Default Psychometric & Aptitude Testing

The use of psychometric and aptitude testing is a very common part of many organizations' recruitment process.

When organizations advertise vacancies, it goes without saying that only a select few will be interviewed. So at the time a candidate is contacted that they have been short listed for a first interview, is the time they should be informed of the company's selection process - this may include a couple of interviews (the first may even be by phone and three interviews is not uncommon these days), a pre-employment medical, police (and qualification) check, reference checks and the above testing if this is what their process entails.