Thread: Racial joke

Default Racial joke

Good afternoon all,

I'm in a position to liaise with HR on a recent workplace complaint. One of my direct reports (who is a supervisor) made an inappropriate joke about another person (team leader). This occurs on a mine site and swearing is far from uncommon.

There were four individuals involved in the conversation when the supervisor called the team leader "black c...". The team leader is indigenous. The supervisor apologized shortly after that saying that it was a big mistake and that it was a joke.

I would like to know whether this type of racial comment warrants a dismissal? The alleviating circumstances are that the supervisor has unblemished work history and hasn't been reprimanded for similar issues in the past.

Your thoughts would be much appreciated.

Mark, I'm no expert, but judging by some Fair Work decisions in the past, I think you should be cautious about instant dismissal. In one case I recall where an employee was dismissed for being verbally abusive to his boss both face to face and on social media (not joking). Fair Work found that bad language and insults (but not racial slurs) were common in the particular workplace, and had been tolerated in the past, and that the employer did not have a clear policy on social media use in relation to the workplace, therefore they decided it was overly harsh to dismiss someone. As a result the person was re-instated.

So the short answer is, 'it depends' (as usual! )

Quote Originally Posted by Moz View Post