Default Paying out leave entitlements to family members when they quit

My husband is an employee in his parents' business. He has no ownership and is not a director - he is genuinely "just" an employee.

The business is struggling financially and is (in my opinion but I'm 100% certain I'm right!) trading insolvent. His parents are ignoring the warning signs, and I think they genuinely believe that the company's Pty Ltd status will protect them from the financial consequences of their poor judgment. I am an accountant by qualification (but not practising) and I have been trying to get their financial records in order, but I just keep finding problem after problem and I just can't see any way to solve their problems.

My husband is working endless unpaid hours at nights and on weekends, to try to keep things afloat. But things are very tense at work, and often outright hostile, with no appreciation for how hard he works. He just gets blamed all the time.

He really wants to leave, and he has about $50k of accrued annual and long service leave entitlements (he hit 10 years last April). I have told him he is better off jumping ship and taking a payout of his entitlements now, because if (when) the company goes under, he will not get anything from the government under their scheme to protect employee entitlements when a business goes belly-up - because he is an immediate family member. At least if he leaves now, he can claim his entitlements before the family thing becomes an issue.