PDA

View Full Version : Flexible Working

Blonde_Bunny
15-10-2012, 06:54 PM
I am a HR professional and have been with my new employer for 2 months. Prior to signing the contract I asked the recruiter if it was possible to work 8-4/4:30, reason being is I live further out than the rest of the team so an earlier time works better for the train (less crowded) I am an early bird plus I tend to exercise after work, which forms part of my mental health plan (I suffer from depression). The recruiter asked my now manager who said this would be fine as it means they could have cover 7:45/8 to 6, the answer was a big factor in me taking the role. However since I arrived it seems different, like today I arrived at 7:45 but stayed until 4:45 (EBA states 7.6 hours per day), when I told her I was leaving she looked at the clock and said "leaving already?"
I am not sure what to do, any advice? A peer told me " You don't have kids so have no right to flexible working"

Moz
15-10-2012, 09:13 PM
A peer told me " You don't have kids so have no right to flexible working"

Unfortunately your peer is correct, see number 2 of the 10 NES provisions says;
"Requests for flexible working arrangements - allows parents or carers of a child under school age or of a child under 18 with a disability, to request a change in working arrangements to assist with the child’s care."

I'm guessing this agreement about you starting early and finishing early isn't in your employment contract?

Also, are you working on a contract basis or are you a permanent employee?

Either way, my advice is that you need to deal with this ASAP - you don't want to let something like this fester.