PDA

View Full Version : Hire a 3 Months contract Employee in Sydeny

Elaine Li
03-08-2012, 11:43 AM
Hi,

Please help me as I have no experience to handle this.

We want to hire a 3 months contract staff to work for our Sydney office.

Can anyone can share with me a sample of offering letter to use.

Can anyone also let me know what mandatory benefits we should offer to this 3 months contract employees , assumed there are some difference with the full time regular staff.

Correct me if I am wrong, Thanks a lot.

Qld IR Consultant
03-08-2012, 12:53 PM
Elaine, check the Fair Work Australia website. This details the minimum conditions required and you can contact them to seek advice on the applicable award. Alternatively you can engage a consultant to do it for you, at cost.

Neb-Maat-Re
03-08-2012, 10:22 PM
For 3 months, consider getting someone through a temp agency.

Otherwise, a direct employee for 3 months would get everything a permanent/ongoing employee would get, but on a pro-rata basis.

Tasman McManis
04-08-2012, 09:46 AM
Hi Elaine,

The two previous comments make sense. If you plan to carry out the process yourself, you can use a normal contract of employment and then make relevant changes to clauses associated with notice, pro-rata rates of pay etc. As mentioned you could contract someone through an agency or engage someone who is a sole trader or an independent contractor where you agree on a day rate for the contract.

Elaine Li
13-08-2012, 06:56 PM
Hi

Casual employees are paid based on the number of hours they work. They usually aren’t guaranteed a certain amount of hours of work per week, but can work regular hours.

Based on the above statement, is it mean that we must hire the casaul employees based on "Hourly Rate " ??

not we put the "Monthly base rate" in the Letter of engagement ?

Please help, thanks.

Qld IR Consultant
14-08-2012, 07:13 AM