PDA

View Full Version : Enforceable Social Media Policy

anikan
30-03-2011, 03:49 PM
I search through the forums and found a similar reference to this here (http://www.hrbuzz.com.au/forum/industrial-relations-employee-relations-eeo-privacy/2820-new-social-networking-laws.html), but it is dated 2009 so I hope people don't mind me creating a new thread.

Recently I was asked to post a Social Media Policy on our intranet. The policy is fairly cut and past but it does make reference to

Any comment or entry that presents the company or brand in a negative manner or that may bring the company or brand into disrepute will not be tolerated

Further down the document there are references to "Implications" including termination of employment.

I am an IT Professional and "blogger" (no I don't have anything bad to say about the company!) and was hoping for feedback on what is generally accepted, most notably...

* Is a company able to enforce disciplinary actions on negative comments that don't incur loss

ie Can you be sacked for posting "Company sucks"

* Is the power to enforce disciplinary actions on social media comments above and beyond what could be enforced by verbal comments?

ie But they can't sack you for saying "Company Sucks" at the Footy

* Do such policies "'interfere with employees in the exercise of their right to engage in protected concerted activity" as per some recent cases in the USA?

* Are there any differences between enforcement for Staff (non-union) vs Shop (union) workers?

* The policy also states that any comments should be tagged "these are the views of the individual" etc etc - doesn't that negate the wont be tolerated?

ie This is my view and not the companies, and my view is the company sucks?

Sorry - lots of questions for a first time poster - but this was the first forum I came across where people seemed to actually discuss the issues.

desbrooker
31-03-2011, 09:31 AM