PDA

View Full Version : Manager wants someone made redundant, dont believe its genuine

Banger
11-12-2010, 10:43 AM
Hi

I'm a HR Advisor in a large organisation and im fairly new to the performance management process (and dealing with difficult one-minded senior managers!). I just want to run through this scenario and how im thinking of approaching it - any feedback appreciated please!

Situation: manager says employee is not performing and wants to make them redundant. His words were actually "cant I just sack them, thats what I used to do". Obviously I quickly told him no!

Employee info: Been with company for approx 12 months now. Has apparently had performance issues which manager says they have tried to deal with. No performance management plan has been put in place. Manager is reluctant to spend the time on this and has not taken up previous offers of assistance from HR.

Company: large organisation. Chances of another role in company within the employees field of work are likely. Call themselves an Employer of Choice. Mgmt has reputation of "paying people off" to get rid of them.

What am I going to? I'm going to be addressing this with the manager first thing next week.
Im going to determine if this is a genuine redundancy or not, put aside the performance as I believe this is a separate issue. If them manager can show me that it is a genuine redundancy ie. the position, not the employee, is no longer required in that department, then ill go down the path of consulting with the employee, looking for suitable redeployment options within the company.

If its not genuine, then we will not make redundant and we have a performance management issue on our hands. If this is the case, ill need to put a perf management plan in place (will be difficult seeing the manager reluctant to support).

Thanks for your feedback in advance!

FWI
16-12-2010, 12:06 PM
Hi Banger