PDA

View Full Version : HR Graduates

desperatelyjobless
03-07-2010, 01:00 PM
Hi everybody. I am quite desperate for a junior/graduate role in HR. I have been searching since May 4th. I have 1 years worth of experience but this is still seen as relatively inexperienced.

Junior HR roles are non existent. Graduate roles in HR are few and far between with extremely strenuous and long winded recruitment campaigns which aim to cull and eliminate you. HR Temp roles require experience.

I have been searching through The Next Step, HR Partners as well as seek, mycareer, careerone and even sent pleas to individual companies.

Its my 3rd month of unemployment and a new wave of graduates are coming in. I need help in securing (not being in the recruitment process) a HR role. I am a HR Generalist.

If anyone has any opportunities or can provide some insight into my situation, please do. I am willing and able to work for free.

The Y-man
05-07-2010, 01:19 PM
Hi There,

Sorry to hear of your situation.
Unfortunately it is a common one. I teach in post-grad HR, and I suspect a portion of my class is made up of students who completed their degrees but were unable to find work.

Have you tried applying for jobs in other areas? Experience doesn't have to be strictly linked to the HR profession - it is more the exposure to organisational systems and structures that employers look for (eg punctuality, self motivation, prudence, etc).

I must say that many of the HR professionals I talk to (perhaps this is a "previous generaiton" thing) went into HR from another unrelated profession (i.e. they did NOT do an "HR" related uni degree). I know this is not sounding helpful, but perhaps you need to keep your mind open to working ANY job that you can get your hands on for now, and ALWAYS keeping an eye/ear out for opportunities and openings.

The Y-man

Raynor
07-08-2010, 07:03 PM
Ulrich describes four ways HR generates value..

Two reactive ways