PDA

View Full Version : Payment in kind

shorty
12-03-2010, 05:18 PM
Is it acceptable practice (legal) to "pay" a part time employee by providing board and meals only? As there is no actual salary, there is no accrual of superannuation, annual leave, sick leave and so on.

Thanks in advance
shorty

Job Media
13-03-2010, 01:52 PM
Hmm, well it was acceptable practice in the 17th and 18th century English workhouses. However, although it may not be acceptable practice today, it may not necessarily be illegal to reward someone this way. I guess it depends on what the board and meals are worth.

I'm no expert, but the PIK (payment in kind) has a value and if the PIK is deemed to be part of the ordinary time earnings base (which surely it must), then superannuation would probably be payable at 9% of the value of the PIK. You could ask the ATO for clarification.

Providing the employees are not casual employees, then they would probably be entitled to annual leave and sick leave.

If the employer claimed that the accommodation and meals were not PIK, then they would probably attract Fringe Benefits Tax and the employer would probably be breaking the law because they are not paying the minimum wage.

I'm no expert in these matters and others on this forum are likely to be able to offer better advice.

shorty
13-03-2010, 03:31 PM
Thanks Job Media.

I will expand on the situation: These people have 7 day board, (in very average accommodation), 3 meals a day, work 16 hours a week, PLUS do 2 overnight supervisions. They do not receive any wages whatsoever. Just their board and meals.

I have been through the Superannuation Guarantee and believe that the employer is getting away with not contributing to Super by saying these are Fringe Benefits. I dont see how you can be giving someone "Fringe Benefits" when you aren't actually paying them anything.