PDA

View Full Version : Psych graduates in HR

CRandall
13-01-2010, 05:35 PM
Hi everyone,

I have been reading these forums for the past few weeks, and thought I'd take the plunge to ask some questions.

I'm a BA (psychology) student, in my third year of study. I started my degree with the aim to practice clinically, but after being exposed to so many different areas in psychology, have shifted my focus to organisational aspects. I have been researching about HR for a few months now and it has appealed to me, to the point where I want to pursue this further.

I'm interested to know if any HR professionals have, or have hired someone with, a background in psychology. I have heard of psych graduates gaining employment in HR, but am not sure if this is common practice.

Would it be more advantageous for me to study HR management specifically, either through a graduate diploma after my psych degree, Cert IV at TAFE, or by transferring to a university where I can complete a double major? I am so close to finishing my first degree that I don't want to abandon it to transfer completely, especially if it could be of use.

Thank you so much in advance!

CRandall

HRIMHO
15-01-2010, 12:06 PM
In my experience, there are more people in HR with psychology degrees than HR specific degrees. I too am a HR practitioner with a psychology degree and probably similar to you, after wandering aimlessly through the first 2 years of the degree not really seeing myself going mainstream psychology.

I think one of the best things you can do at this stage while still at uni is to take as many org psych based units as you can, or additionally, take management/IR/HR electives from the business school if you're able. If not, not to worry, I didn't think that far ahead.

Second, while still at uni I'd look for some work experience and/or vacation work somewhere in HR if you can get it. You'll hit the ground running when you graduate.