PDA

View Full Version : OH&S Committee - Do I need one in every state?

Brookfies
05-11-2009, 02:04 PM
I am new to OH&S and have just learned that it is part of my responsibilities. I am aware that OH&S legislation currently differs by state, however I wonder if this means if I need to have a distinct OH&S committee in every state, or if I am I able to set up a national committee?

Many thanks!

SuzanneC
06-11-2009, 10:23 AM
I'd be keen to know this as well. We have our head office in Sydney, an office in melbourne and remote workers in Tas, SA and Qld. I have a blanket policy to cover all, with the addition of special conditiosn for remote workers.

thanks
Suzanne

belinda
06-11-2009, 01:47 PM
I would of thought that unless the sites are small in size you would have a committee for each site. The Committee discusses issues relevant to that site.

You could then ensure that it all comes back to you or you sit on each of the committees meetings.

I worked for a hotel group and looked after 5 different hotels. I sat and ran each sites meetings. I then had to report back to Head Office (in Sydney) on the states progress via end of month reports. This was then presented to the Board of Directors.

HRIMHO
06-11-2009, 03:12 PM
Can't say I know 100%, but it would normally depend how you structure your Designated Work Groups (DWG's). There are probably some guidelines around how you do structure this, however some considerations include nature of the work (can be same across states), type of office environment (corp. buildings are generally pretty similar I'd think) and number of people in that work group.

As long as each employee was covered through an accountable structure and part of a DWG somewhere along the line, it's possibly OK. But if you set up a completely inappropriate DWG (i.e. manufacturing workers in QLD in the same group as office workers in NSW) then you might leave yourself open to consequences.

ISH
27-11-2009, 11:32 AM