PDA

View Full Version : Re-entering the workforce

chris g
12-11-2008, 06:40 PM
Hi there,
I am very keen to re-enter the workforce after a very long break of 13 years raising a family. I have 16 years HR experience, seven of which were in a senior role with an international company so I was on the regional management committee. However after all this time I have lost my network and to a certain extent some confidence. The main question I have is "How much has HR changed in the last 13 years"? obviously I understand there are legislative changes but have there been any other major changes. HR in my last company was very much a strategic partner in the business and I had a "dotted" reporting line to our parent company in the U.S. so I consider that a very big plus but understand it has been a long time.
Probably my biggest mistake has been in not undertaking any HR studies in recent years as I was so involved in volunteer work and didn't really think I would ever go back into HR. If anyone has any ideas or information about courses that would help upgrade my skills (as quickly as possible) I would be very appreciative.

HeidiC
01-12-2008, 01:21 PM
I would suggest that you join AHRI and go to some of their workshops. It will also assist you in regaining your confidence and network.

I have only been in HR for 5 years, so I cannot comment on how much it has changed since you were last in the workforce, but with the changes I have noticed I would probably say that is has changed quite a bit.

Companies are having to be much more flexible and innovative when it comes to recruiting and retaining staff. Work/life balance has come into the forefont of HR innovation and thought. Dealing with Gen Y in the workforce is also very different to any other generation and I suggest reading 'Generation Y' by Peter Sheahan.